Same Blog, New Place

For those of you who are used to seeing this blog on the Blogger site, glad you found your way over to WordPress.  I moved the blog because I like the functionality of WordPress a lot better.  I haven’t deleted the old blog, but I won’t be updating it, so this is where you need to look for anything new.

Unfortunately, I wasn’t able to “automagically” import the old blog, so I had to do it manually.  As a result, all of the old posts have been saved with the same February 3, 2007 date.  So, to view older posts, you can’t use the Archives feature because everything has been dumped into February 2007.  You can, however, browse using the “Previous Entries” button at the bottom of each page.  You can also search for specific posts using the “Search” box, or browse the “Categories”.

Sorry for the inconvenience, but when Google purchased Blogger they “upgraded” the platform and one of the results is that you can’t do a wholesale import onto a different platform.  All a part of Google’s master plan to take over the world…. 

4 Responses to Same Blog, New Place

  1. David says:

    I know I have posted about this elsewhere, but the new blogger importer for wordpress.com blogs really works! You should try it. And if your old blog was not on the new blogger, it is worth updating it and then running the import. (You can always delete the post you imported so far.

  2. wagsoutside says:

    Thanks David! When I set up the WordPress site it wasn’t supporting imports from the (then) Beta version, but that’s obviously changed. Thanks again for the tip!

  3. […] A couple of weeks ago I moved this blog from Blogger to WordPress, and explained that as I had not been able to “automagically” import the old blog posts onto the new […]

  4. David says:

    I only knew because I had the exact same problem! It’s great that your old posts are on the correct dates (along with the comments).

Leave a Reply

