Running in the Longhorn Nation

Unlike on my trip to New Mexico last month, I was able to run today.  I emerged from the lobby of my downtown hotel and headed down 6th Street. Austin bills itself as the “Live Music Capital of the World”, and it’s easy to see why. Nashville has Broadway with institutions like Tootsie’s Orchid Lounge, but Austin’s claim seems legit. I ran past place after place after place advertising live music, many already rocking with bouncers stationed outside at 5:00 in the afternoon.

The music venues were fun to run past, but they weren’t my intended destination. I was headed to the University of Texas. College campuses are always one of my favorite places to run – this blog has chronicled runs through college campuses including the University of Virginia, Florida State, and Louisiana State, among others.

I made it to U.T., but certainly didn’t see the whole campus – I was already a couple of miles into the run by the time I got there.  They say they grow things bigger in Texas, and U.T. is no exception.  I did make it to the football stadium.  Like the campus, big. The most impressive sight was the trophy room with four crystal football trophies for each of the Longhorns’ national championships. They take their football seriously down here.

Leave a Reply

