Lock-In

As I write this, my 13 and 11 year old daughters are at a “lock-in” at our church, along with a couple dozen other middle and high schoolers.  It’s nearly 3:30 a.m. and I’m up at this insane hour because I just got back from helping chaperone for several hours.  Everyone was still going strong when I left, and all were having a great time. 

I’ve always respected those who are gifted in youth ministry.  The energy, creativity, and patience required is formidable.  I’m thankful that we have two youth ministry interns who seem to have what it takes.  I sure don’t! 

I know I’ll be dragging tomorrow, but I can only imagine how my girls are going to be once the sun comes up and the sugar-soda-excitement rush wears off.  Oh well, we’ll all muddle through.  I’m just so grateful that they have this youth group to bond and grow with as they find their way in this very complicated world.  I feel badly for kids who aren’t so fortunate.

Leave a Reply

