Alaska Wrap-Up

I’m homeward bound, sitting in the Juneau airport waiting for the redeye to take me back east.  I spent the last two days in Anchorage, which was underwhelming.  That’s no slight against the city; apart from my business meetings and meals, I was a slave to my laptop and didn’t get out of the hotel. (Contrary to popular opinion, or at least the opinion of my family and friends, I really did have work to do in Alaska).

Maybe my aspirations of getting up to see Denali were a bit unrealistic, but I did hope to see some of the backcountry. Anchorage is the largest city in Alaska, with a population of over a quarter million, but I wasn’t really interested in sampling the culture or nightlife of the big (relatively speaking) city. The Alaska that I was interested in seeing was the Jack London Alaska.

Next trip.  For now I’ll have to savor the memory of my Mt. Roberts Trail adventure. I can also look back on the photos of the amazing mountains and glaciers that I took on the flight from Juneau to Anchorage, and imagine what it would be like to be down there….
anchorage-flight-009.jpganchorage-flight-008.jpganchorage-flight-006.jpganchorage-flight-005.jpganchorage-flight-004.jpganchorage-flight-003.jpganchorage-flight-002.jpganchorage-flight-001.jpg

One Response to Alaska Wrap-Up

  1. gomomyourock says:

    yeah, yeah.

    Glad you’re on your way home…finally. We’ve missed you. Will’s got lots of plans for the remainder of your weekend!

    No mention of mountains versus hills?

    xoxo

Leave a Reply

