The Real World

“Been outside lately?”  This comment to my last post was a gentle nudge from my wife to get back on the blogging wagon.  Or is it get off of the non-blogging wagon?  I’d plead busy schedule, but my wife is every bit as busy as I am, and somehow she manages to post daily.

Don’t expect that from me, but I’ll try to do better.

That said, where to begin?  I can add little to what she’s already posted on our Emerald Isle beach week.  She might have ooh’d and aah’d a bit more over the size of the fish that we caught, the ferocity of the waves that we battled, or the number of miles that we ran, but other than that she did a good job of capturing the week.  Anyway, she likes to keep her posts in the non-fiction category, so I guess I have no room to complain.

Suffice it to say that it was a great week. So far I’ve been able to retain just enough of it to get me through the day-to-day realities of the “real world” of work and other responsibilities that greeted us upon our return.

As I think about that last sentence, I realize that I need to reconsider my usage of the “real world” terminology. I know that many years from now I will still be cherishing memories of our time at the beach. At the same time I very much doubt that I will remember anything that happened to me at work last week.

Maybe that’s a clue as to which is actually the “real world”.

walking-back.jpg  

One Response to The Real World

  1. gomomyourock says:

    now that’s better…

Leave a Reply

