16 Miles

I ran 16 miles today.  At around mile 13-14, I started thinking that maybe I have been underestimating the magnitude of the act of running 26.2 miles.  A little late for that realization, unfortunately.  One thing I know for sure is that when I got done with 16, I certainly didn’t feel like I had another 10.2 in me.  Not today, anyway.

I felt better about my run when I got back home and plugged my time into my running log and realized that the marathon time extrapolation that I had been doing in my head during the last few miles of today’s run was off by over an hour. Not a good idea to do math in your head when you are exhausted and most of your faculties are devoted to running in a straight line out of oncoming traffic.

Anyway, I’m taking solace in the following 5 things:

1) My run for today is history and tomorrow is a rest day.

2) The OBX course is flat.

3) The weather for the marathon will probably be cooler.

4) I will be aided by race-day adrenaline.

5) I still have 34 training days left.

Leave a Reply

