Almost There

2 days, 8 hours, 21 minutes.  Add about 5 hours to that time and my first marathon will (I hope) be over and done with.

Over the last week or so, I’ve been doing what I always do when I’m nervous about something – over-analyze, over-research, over-think. Books, magazine and newspaper articles, websites, online discussion forums – I seek it all out and soak it all in. As a result, it’s fair to say that I know quite a lot about running marathons. It’s all book knowledge, though. What I do not know, and cannot know until I actually face it, is how I will deal with hitting the wall – that time when, around mile 18-20, the body depletes its last glycogen stores and starts to burn fat for energy. This is when the dramatic fatigue sets in, the legs turn to lead, and the mind works overtime telling the body that it needs to stop. Dizziness and hallucinations are possibilities as well.

How will I deal with it? What will I do? Stay tuned, for you can be sure that I will write about it here.

In the meantime, here’s a link to a trailer for a new movie called The Spirit of the Marathon. The trailer gets me verklempt and I haven’t even run the marathon yet.

One Response to Almost There

  1. […] should’ve. Three very bad words. My only consolation is that I was feeling the exact same way a couple of days prior to running my first marathon last fall. With that behind me, I’m […]

Leave a Reply

