Back in the Saddle and Looking Forward

I ran today for the first time since the marathon.  It felt great to be moving again, and to confirm that everything still works as it should. 

That’s a good thing, as I’ve decided on my next challenge – the Holiday Lake 50K++, to be held in the Appomattox-Buckingham State Forest in February. This is an ultramarathon – an ultra is defined as anything longer than a marathon’s 26.2 miles, and a 50K is just over 31 miles. As indicated by the “++” on this one, it’s actually a bit longer than 31 – something over 34 miles.  The added distance is just part of the package.  98% of the event is on trails and dirt roads, it includes two stream crossings, and the odds are good that snow will be involved.  It promises to make a road marathon seem downright civilized. 

No, I haven’t lost my mind, and no, I don’t think that I am biting off more than I can chew.  While I have a grand total of 1 marathons under my belt, I do have that 1, so I know that I can go the distance.  I just need to see if I can muster up another 8 miles or so on top of that.           

And no, I am certainly not overconfident.  This race will be a huge challenge, and I know that the reasonable approach would probably be to get a few more marathons behind me before taking it on.  

But, the truly reasonable approach would probably be to take up golf instead.   

One Response to Back in the Saddle and Looking Forward

  1. gomomyourock says:

    What’s another 8 miles?

Leave a Reply

