Book List

Taking a cue from my wife, which I don’t do nearly enough for my own good, I have decided to become more intentional about my reading habits.

I have no problem with reading – I’ve always loved books.  I remember little about most of my classrooms in elementary and middle school, but I remember the libraries, and I consumed most of what they contained.  While I slacked off a bit in high school (other interests, you know), my love for reading has continued into my adulthood.  

Through the years, I’ve managed to collect quite a few books – not enough, mind you, but quite a few. My only problem is in finding (or making) the time to read them all.

So, here’s a list of what I’m reading next:

The Life of Johnny Reb and The Life of Billy Yank by Bell I. Wiley – a detailed study of the Civil War soldier.  Fascinating stuff.

Mere Christianity by C.S. Lewis – I’m a bit embarrassed to say that I’ve never read the whole thing straight through.

The Purpose Driven Life by Rick Warren – Warren has his detractors, but this is an important book for purposes of cultural literacy if nothing else.

The Culture of Disbelief by Stephen L. Carter – a discussion of how American law and politics trivialize religious devotion. Certainly timely.

Under the Volcano by Malcolm Lowry – I was an English major, after all.

Chesapeake by James Michener – if for no reason other than I have never read a Michener book.

Those should keep me busy for a while.  Some pretty heavy stuff, but my last three books have been on the lighter side:

Into the Wild by Jon Krakauer – the book upon which the recent movie was based.  Worthy of a blog post of its own, which may be coming soon.

Shut Up, Stop Whining & Get a Life by Larry Winget – I saw this book by the “Pitbull of Personal Development” and couldn’t pass it up.  The guy is a master at self-promotion, but he’s entertaining and makes some good points.

Running Through the Wall, edited by Neal Jamison – personal encounters with the ultramarathon.  Inspirational fare to help motivate me for  my own encounter in a few weeks.         

2 Responses to Book List

  1. Terry Karnes says:

    I’m trying to reach wagsoutside for a question about Ridge Drive-in in Charlottesville. I read a post somewhere that you remember the drive-in. I’m writing a story about it and would like to chat with you sometime. Can you email me personally about it? Thanks so much!

    Terry Karnes

  2. gomomyourock says:

    So you have all these books on your nightstand waiting to be read, and what are you reading? Something totally off the list!

Leave a Reply

