Entitlement Based on What Experience?

George Will wrote a thoughtful Op-Ed the other day on Hillary Clinton’s skewed sense of fairness. Even though I often disagree with Will’s positions, I always enjoy his writing, and this is no exception.

In this case, though, I think his point is as solid as his prose. One of the things that bugs me the most about Clinton’s candidacy is the unmistakable sense of entitlement that she has about the whole thing.

A close second is the “experience” argument. If you read nothing else, read the last 3 paragraphs of Will’s piece. If you support Hillary Clinton because you don’t like Obama, fine. If you support her because she’s a woman, well, I have a hard time seeing how that would be any different from me supporting Obama because he’s a man, or (even worse) me supporting McCain because he’s a white man, but maybe I’m missing something.

Just don’t tell me that you support her because she has more experience. That one I can’t buy.  

Leave a Reply

