Seemed Like a Good Idea at the Time

The Charlottesville Marathon post will probably be my last running post for a while. My Google search for “knee pain after marathon” turned up this gem, among others:

“To be blunt, you are beating the hell out of your body. Racing three marathons in four months is almost always a sure ticket to disaster as you have now found out.”

I’m guessing the coach who wrote that would say the same thing about racing an ultramarathon, 2 marathons (one a PR), a half-marathon (PR) and a 10-miler (PR) in 5 months.

Hey, it seemed like a good idea at the time.

So, it’s ice, rest, and lots of “Vitamin I” (Ibuprofen) for the foreseeable future. I’d like to think I can get one more marathon in this fall, but doing a 50-miler a month afterwards ain’t going to happen. When I am able to run again, I’m going to have to start my marathon training again from scratch, and I’m now realizing that a mere 1-month recovery time in between long-distance races is just dumb. Sure there are people that can do it – there are also people that routinely log 60, 80, and 100+ mile weeks. I’ve been reading too much about them and forgetting that they are a different breed.

It would be an understatement to say that I’m disappointed about this turn of events. While I haven’t been able to train as much as I’d like (and nowhere near enough to support the distances I was racing – a big contributing factor to my injury), my burgeoning identity as a marathoner has become important to me. I just hope that with time and patience I’ll be able to get back on the roads and trails to run long and – next time – run smart.

4 Responses to Seemed Like a Good Idea at the Time

  1. gomomyourock says:

    Bummer.

  2. Jeff Cornelius says:

    You’ve gotta remember that the fellow the Marathon race commemorates didn’t run any more anythings after that day.

  3. […] and distance, and had some success for another couple of races. Within a few months, however, my 44 year old knees rebelled and that was […]

Leave a Reply

