I’ve Created a Monster

Once upon a time, about a year ago, I encouraged, nagged, and cajoled a friend of mine into signing up for the Charlottesville 10-Miler.  It was initially an uphill battle, but when I started questioning his manhood, the deal was done.  

Although he had played football in college and was a much more talented natural athlete than I, his goals at the outset were modest.  It wasn’t long, though, before his competitive and goal-oriented nature took over.  His initial quest to simply “finish the race” quickly morphed into “finish the race without walking”, and before long it was “run a sub-10 minute mile pace”, then “break a 9 minute mile pace”.

He was gunning for me, and I knew it.

When race day came, he took off like a 6’4″ rabbit.  I was a bit concerned – while I wanted to beat him as badly as he wanted to beat me, I wanted him to have a good experience, and at the pace he was running, I thought he was headed for trouble.  He held on, though, and I wasn’t able to catch up with him, and pass him, until around mile 9.  He has been living, and re-living, that moment for the past year, determined not to let it happen again.

Did I mention he was gunning for me?

I ran a PR last year, and I beat him by less than 40 seconds.  I’m going to have to take at least another 5 minutes off to beat him again. 

Remind me to keep my mouth shut next time.

4 Responses to I’ve Created a Monster

  1. gomomyourock says:

    I say you’d better shave at least 5 minutes off your current PR – your manhood’s at stake.
    xoxo

  2. Morgan says:

    You are reminded!

    Grr…

  3. Monster's wife.... says:

    he’s only 6’3″, but all the rest is true. Deal with him, please!

  4. […] only complicating factor was The Monster that I had created after last year’s race. He had been gunning for me for a solid year – […]

Leave a Reply

